NOTICE: Many events listed here have been canceled or postponed due to the Covid-19 emergency. It is best to call ahead or check with organizer's websites to verify the status of any local event.

Change Location × Abbotsford, BC

    Recent Locations

      READING EVENT 1 PART 2: The Crooked Thing: Book Launch in Abbotsford


      • READING EVENT 1 PART 2: The Crooked Thing: Book Launch Photo #1
      1 of 1
      October 15, 2020

      Thursday   6:00 PM

      Abbotsford, British Columbia

      Performers:
      • No Performers Listed
      EVENT DETAILS
      READING EVENT 1 PART 2: The Crooked Thing: Book Launch

      Mary MacDonald in conversation with Rebecca Wood Barrett For fans of Alice Munro and Carol Shields comes an emotional and hopeful collection of short stories that delve into the tragedies that befall each of us in the search for goodness and meaning. Join author Mary MacDonald in conversation with Rebecca Wood Barrett to celebrate the launch of her first book of short stories, The Crooked Thing. The English poet, William Blake said, “joy and woe are woven fine.” So it is in The Crooked Thing. A collection of intense and emotional stories, there are traumas and betrayals, loves and losses, missed opportunities and discoveries, and above all, hope. In tales delicate and steely, a troubled young ferryman finds himself with an unexpected passenger, a songbird finds its voice, a mother learns to let go of her son and, after a chance encounter, an aging ballerina dances again. At their core these are love stories; they move us, disturb us, and upend our beliefs, to show us characters not all that different from ourselves. Moderator: Rebecca Wood Barrett Online Event Ticket (Pay what you can) - CA$0.00

      Cost: CA$0

      Categories: Literary & Books

      Event details may change at any time, always check with the event organizer when planning to attend this event or purchase tickets.

      Hotels and Airbnbs near READING EVENT 1 PART 2: The Crooked Thing: Book Launch. Book your stay now!